Honorary Degree Recipients – 2000s


Robert Burton, chairman, chief executive officer, president, Walter Industries, Inc. – Doctor of Humane Letters

Rita Colwell, director, National Science Foundation – Doctor of Science

Christopher J. Dodd, U.S. Senator (D-Conn.) – Doctor of Laws

Harold Hongju Koh, assistant secretary of state for democracy, human rights and labor – Doctor of Laws

Jules LaPidus, president, Council of Graduate Schools – Doctor of Laws

Lionel Olmer, senior partner, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison – Doctor of Laws

Harvey Sadow, retired chief executive officer, Boehringer Pharmaceuticals Inc. – Doctor of Science

Sheila Widnall, professor, MIT, former Secretary, U.S. Air Force – Doctor of Science


Mary Francis Berry, chair, U.S. Commission on Civil Rights – Doctor of Laws

Lester Brown, founder, Chair, Worldwatch Institute – Doctor of Science

Shirley Ann Jackson, president, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute – Doctor of Science

Ray Neag, founder, director, Arrow Int., philanthropist, UConn Class of 1956 – Doctor of Laws

Thomas Ritter, former state legislator, UConn Class of ’77 (Law) – Doctor of Laws, attorney

Philip Roth, author – Doctor of Humane Letters

Charles H. Thornton, chairman, The Thornton-Tomasetti Group – Doctor of Science


Judah Folkman, M.D., medical researcher, Children’s Hospital, Boston – Doctor of Science

Frene Noshir Ginwala, speaker, South African National Assembly – Doctor of Laws

Princess Irene of Greece, humanitarian – Doctor of Humane Letters

Bobbie Ann Mason, novelist, short story writer, writer-in-residence, University of Kentucky – Doctor of Letters

Patricia McGowan Wald, former judge, U.S. Court of Appeals – Doctor of Laws

Edmund D. Pellegrino, M.D., medical ethicist, professor emeritus, Georgetown University – Doctor of Science

Joseph Volpe, general manager, Metropolitan Opera – Doctor of Fine Arts

William A. Wulf, president, National Academy of Engineering – Doctor of Science

Fujia Yang, chancellor, The University of Nottingham – Doctor of Science


Daniel C. Dennett, professor, director, Center for Cognitive Studies, Tufts – Doctor of Humane Letters

Frederick Fennell, conductor – Doctor of Fine Arts

John Kluge, chairman, president, Metromedia Co. – Doctor of Humane Letters

Philip Leder, director, Harvard Institute of Human Genetics – Doctor of Science

Henry C. Lee, forensic scientist and former Connecticut Commissioner of Public Safety – Doctor of Science

Arthur Levitt, former chair, Securities& Exchange Commission – Doctor of Laws

Gordon Parks, photographer, writer, composer, filmmaker Doctor of Fine Arts-

Les Payne, journalist, columnist, UConn Class of 1964 (CLAS) – Doctor of Letters


Dennis Wayne Archer, mayor, Detroit, Michigan – Doctor of Laws

Linda Darling-Hammond, education policy analyst and professor, Stanford – Doctor of Humane Letters

Gerhard Giebisch, Sterling Professor of Cellular and Molecular Physiology, Yale University – Doctor of Science

Gene Likens, ecologist, president of Institute of Ecosystems Studies – Doctor of Science

David Macaulay, graphic artist, illustrator and author – Doctor of Fine Arts

Iognáid G. Ó Muircheartaigh, president, National University of Ireland – Doctor of Science


Eduardo Aguirre, director, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services – Doctor of Humane Letters

Morris Sheppard Arnold, United States Court of Appeals, 8th District – Doctor of Laws

Robert Ballard, director, Mystic Aquarium Institute for Exploration, Mystic, Conn. – Doctor of Science

Dr. Jonathan Fanton, president, MacArthur Foundation – Doctor of Laws

Henry B. C. Low, Clinical Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery – Doctor of Science

Roger S. Newton, senior vice president, director, Esperion Therapeutics, Pfizer – Doctor of Science

Tim Page, chief music critic, The Washington Post – Doctor of Fine Arts


Arthur Caplan, author and professor of bioethics, University of Pennsylvania – Doctor of Science

David Chase, chairman, chief executive officer, Chase Enterprises – Doctor of Humane Letters

Rhoda Cohen Chase, philanthropist – Doctor of Humane Letters

Francis S. Collins, director, Human Genome Research Institute – Doctor of Science

Rosa DeLauro, House of Representatives, D-3rd District, Connecticut – Doctor of Laws

The Honorable Allyson Duncan, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit – Doctor of Laws

Barbara Ehrenreich, author, contributing editor, Time – Doctor of Humane Letters

Amartya Sen, professor, economics and philosophy, Harvard University – Doctor of Laws


Wolfgang Ketterle, John D. MacArthur Prof. of Physics, MIT – Doctor of Science

John Krenicki, president, chief executive officer, GE Energy, UConn Class of 1984 – Doctor of Science

Mark R. Shenkman, president, chief information officer, Shenkman Capital Management Inc., UConn Class of 1965 – Doctor of Humane Letters

Fay Weldon, British novelist, essayist, screenwriter – Doctor of Letters


Charlotte Bunch, founder & executive director, Center for Women’s Global Leadership, Rutgers – Doctor of Laws

Gary S. Gladstein, philanthropist, retired chief executive officer, Soros Fund Management, UConn Class of 1966 – Doctor of Humane Letters

Garry Wills, scholar, journalist – Doctor of Letters

Denis M. McCarthy, retired chairman, chief executive officer, president, Fidelity Management Trust Co. – Doctor of Humane Letters


Timothy Shriver, chairman, chief executive officer, Special Olympics, UConn 1997 Ph.D. (NEAG) – Doctor of Humane Letters

Robert Sternberg, dean, Tufts University School of Arts and Sciences – Doctor of Science

Denis M. McCarthy, Chairman, CEO and President Fidelity Management and Trust – Doctor of Humane Letters